Cooling my feet

Voices, I hear voices and it’s afternoon on Thursday. I can’t tell what they are saying, but they are there. I guess I should tell a bit more. About lunch time a Geocache was published up here in the “Forest Preserve” as some of my childhood friends called it. Now we just call it a State Park, but most of it is still wilderness type forest.

Back to my hike uphill, it’s been along a babbling brook, with many squirrels gathering nuts for winter. The voices get louder and almost distinct as I continue along the trail. At last I come to a bend and find that the trail crosses over the brook at a small waterfall. The voices are coming from a couple that are sitting on one of the rocks overhanging the splash pool at the foot of the falls. They are sitting with their feet in the water.

Cascade Falls, Potapsco Valley State Park, Ellicott City, Md.

Cascade Falls, Potapsco Valley State Park, Ellicott City, Md.

When they see me they call me over and suggest that I take off my hiking boots and cool my feet before I continue on, about another half mile of climbing. So I join them and enjoy the cooling from the waterfall.

On my way down the hill after I found the Geocache I stop here again. The waterfall isn’t wide, or high, dropping only about 5 feet, but it is a peaceful spot to cool off.

for Sunday Photo Fiction for Nobember 2nd –

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in Photo Challenge, photo fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cooling my feet

  1. Sunday Fiction says:

    I don’t know why I didn’t get a notification of this.

    Do you go geocaching often?

Leave a Reply

