The Telescope

Today started off strangely, I overslept, then the events after breakfast at the coffee shop (see last weeks challenge). But today as is usual at an accounting office, not much exciting ever happens. I left the office a bit later than usual, to make up for my tardiness this morning. As I walked out the front door I turned left, a change for me, I live about 5 blocks to the right, just up the street from what remained of Bad City Coffee.

First street runs along “The River” as it is known, really just a stream not much wider than a hundred feet. I crossed Oak St, then Pine St. A couple blocks further I crossed Beech, then Birch, or was it the other way around. Whoever named those two so close togethe must have had an evil moment. Why the streets were named for trees is one of the questions everyone in town wonders, there no trees for miles, farm fields surround the city. I crossed “The River” on Chestnut St and turned on Waterfront Parkway, running along “The River” on the other side, more evil street naming.

I stopped along the way to watch white-water kayakers paddling around bolders in the stream. I’d guess the rapids were classed somewhere between Class I and flat water, The White-Water Kayak competitions in the Olympics on TV is way more exciting. I thought back to winter times when this creek is used for Ice Skating. Leaning on the rail that keeps onlookers from joining the kayakers, I recalled the strange events of the morning. How Suzie dumped the tip I left her into the Tip-Jar by the register. And how Mel told me that the eggs were only a day old, coming from his brother’s farm and the sausage was fresh from his farm too. What a strange course of events.

Time to get going, I continued toward home. Then I stopped at a Coin Operated telescope I hadn’t noticed before, but it was across from Second St, right across from where the coffee shop stood only yesterday. “What the heck!” I thoughts, I have a quarter, after I watched some of the Kayakers I scanned along the far bank to where I was earlier in the day. I imagined the Coffee Shop, the Heap of rubble, But No! Where the shop once stood was a well manicured lawn. I hardly recovered from seeing the transformation when I realized I was looking at a chez lounge-lounge with a brunette I thought I recognized. She spotted me right off and was waving frantically. Finally it came to me, it was Suzie still wearing her waitress uniform, with the apron, pocket still holding order pads.

I headed up to the next bridge, Walnut St to cross back to First Street and back down to the corner of First and Second to where the shop was, and Suzie. When I got to her I saw a second chez lounge waiting. She motioned for me to sit. Mel approached. He wasn’t wearing is usual greasy cook’s apron, but now he was wearing a Tux, carrying a thick leather bound wine list. By golly he’d become the wine sommelier of this small well manicured lawn that magically appeared where once stood the coffee shop.

for Sunday Photo Fiction, October 19th Coin Operated Telescope

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in challenge, Sunday Photo Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Telescope

  1. Al says:

    Another great story Mike, and thanks for the link back to the other story. What a weird day this guy is having. Reminds me of something out of a dream or Hitch-hikers Guide To The Galaxy. I like it 🙂

  2. Pingback: A strange day comes to an end | What Challenge

  3. Pingback: Lunch in Midsomer | Weakly Thoughts

Leave a Reply

