Neither of us expected.

Late last year I headed south to stay a few days with my son. Tired of staying at impersonal hotels I decided to try AirBnB for a couple of nights on my trip. I’d booked ahead and the hosts were expecting me, so it wasn’t a total surprise when I arrived. The surprise came after I’d introduced myself, and accepted a piece of fresh, home-made pumpkin bread and began to get to know my hosts. I became the guest eating cake in the living room.

A couple of my activities are Kayaking, and Geocaching. The surprise was on both my hosts as well as me. They also kayak on a lake that almost surrounds their small town, and they both Geocache too! In fact the cache I was going look for the next morning was one that they placed. We stayed up late into the night talking as old friends, and the conversation over coffee the next morning lasted a bit longer than any of us wanted. But I had to get on the road and they needed to get to work. The unexpected meeting promises to turn into a long friendship. When will I plan my next trip south?

Instead of a cold hotel I’d stumbled upon “old friends”, even though we had never met. The unexpected often turns out with better than expected results.

for: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/unexpected-guests/

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in challenge, Daily Prompt, unexpected, Writing Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

