Life on the Rocks

Life on the rocks

Sunday Photo Fiction: March 30th 2014

Life in the rocks as a Fiddler Crab isn’t all that it’s cracked up to be. Living in the jetty has it’s hazards. First there are little boys that think it’s fun to throw small stones or sand in our face, others try to catch us and take us home. Normally I just snap my claw at them and they go away. but I’ve seen more of my friend crabs taken than I ever want to see. Then there are the dogs that are persistent and keep trying till a large wave comes in and they get doused with ocean water. The salt in their eyes fixes them, and my fellow crabs laugh with glee. Once I was lucky enough to time my claw just right and latched onto the nose of one slow dog. He Yipped and Howled all the way back up the beach. I doubt he’ll be trying to catch us again soon.

The fairly warm salt water we live in supplies us with the right bits of algae and other foods to eat. The really bad times come when the cold rain hits. Darned cold fresh water, it doesn’t have any taste or food. Yetch! I’ve seen the times are getting worse for us almost daily, oily stuff and lots of unpalatable plastic flotsam and jetsam make life here in the rocks downright miserable.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in rocks, Sunday Photo Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

